017794612

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 880

Offered February 14, 2001

Commending Chief Justice Harry L. Carrico.

Patrons—Armstrong, Abbitt, Albo, Almand, Amundson, Barlow, Baskerville, Bennett, Black, Blevins, Bloxom, Bolvin, Brink, Broman, Byron, Callahan, Christian, Clement, Councill, Cox, Cranwell, Crittenden, Darner, Day, DeBoer, Deeds, Devolites, Diamonstein, Dickinson, Dillard, Drake, Dudley, Grayson, Griffith, Hall, Hamilton, Hargrove, Harris, Howell, Hull, Ingram, Jackson, Joannou, Johnson, Jones, D.C., Jones, J.C., Jones, S.C., Katzen, Keister, Kilgore, Landes, Larrabee, Louderback, Marshall, May, McClure, McDonnell, McEachin, McQuigg, Melvin, Moran, Morgan, Moss, Nixon, O'Bannon, Orrock, Parrish, Phillips, Plum, Pollard, Purkey, Putney, Rapp, Reid, Rhodes, Robinson, Rollison, Rust, Scott, Sherwood, Shuler, Spruill, Stump, Suit, Tata, Tate, Thomas, Van Landingham, Van Yahres, Wardrup, Ware, Watts, Weatherholtz, Welch, Wilkins, Williams, Woodrum and Wright; Senators: Barry, Bolling, Byrne, Chichester, Colgan, Couric, Edwards, Forbes, Hanger, Hawkins, Houck, Howell, Lambert, Lucas, Marsh, Martin, Marye, Maxwell, Miller, K.G., Miller, Y.B., Mims, Newman, Norment, Potts, Puckett, Puller, Quayle, Rerras, Reynolds, Ruff, Saslaw, Stolle, Stosch, Ticer, Trumbo, Wagner, Wampler, Watkins, Whipple and Williams

5

WHEREAS, January 30, 2001, marked the 40th anniversary of Chief Justice Harry L. Carrico's tenure on the Supreme Court of Virginia; and

WHEREAS, a member of the Supreme Court since January 30, 1961, Harry L. Carrico has been Chief Justice since February 1, 1981; and

WHEREAS, during his long and distinguished career, Justice Carrico has served as a judge of the Trial Justice Court (now the General District Court) and a judge of the Sixteenth Judicial Circuit; and

WHEREAS, Justice Carrico has been for many years the chairman of the Judicial Council of Virginia and is a former president of the Conference of Chief Justices, chairman of the National Center for State Courts, and a member, director or chairman of many other prestigious professional organizations; and

WHEREAS, Justice Carrico has been honored repeatedly by-among numerous others-the University of Richmond, George Washington University, The College of William and Mary, the Virginia Association of Broadcasters, the American Judicature Society, and the National Center for State Courts; and

WHEREAS, in 1987 Justice Carrico created the Commission on the Future of Virginia's Judicial System, which made 132 recommendations for the improvement of the Commonwealth's judicial system; and

WHEREAS, Justice Carrico is a co-founder of the Virginia State Bar's Mandatory Course on Professionalism, created in 1988 and the first course of its kind in the nation, and regularly participates in the course for newly admitted members of the bar; and

WHEREAS, a great admirer of John Marshall and George Mason, Justice Carrico is honorary chairman of the John Marshall Foundation, which presents annual teacher awards at the Richmond Bar Association's luncheon; and

WHEREAS, Justice Carrico is chairman of the Harry F. Byrd, Jr., Leadership Award Committee, which was established in 1994 to recognize Virginia's outstanding high school seniors; and

WHEREAS, a jurist of impeccable reputation and stature, Chief Justice Harry L. Carrico continues to serve the Commonwealth with matchless professionalism, unquestioned integrity and an absolute commitment to the law; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly commend and congratulate Chief Justice Harry L. Carrico on reaching a milestone anniversary in his service to the Supreme Court of Virginia; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Chief Justice Harry L. Carrico as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration, appreciation and gratitude.

6 7 8

9

10

11

12

13 14

15

16

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31 32

33

34 35

36

37

38

1 2

3

10/21/22 21:6