HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 754

Commending the Olive Branch Bulldogs football team.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, January 19, 2001 Agreed to by the Senate, January 25, 2001

WHEREAS, the Olive Branch Bulldogs football team from Portsmouth, won the Pop Warner Super Bowl to become the 2000 Midget Division national champions; and

WHEREAS, in becoming the first team from Virginia to win a national youth football title, the Olive Branch Bulldogs defeated the San Francisco Brown Bombers, 22-6, to capture the national championship; and

WHEREAS, the Olive Branch Bulldogs—Dexter Ervin, Brian Gibson, Derek Steele, Antoine Adams, Robert Evans, Brian Brown, Joseph Wine, Antwon Childers, Nicholas Allmond, Daniel Buck, Tristian Snipes, Shaun Boker, Joseph Allen, Eddie Prince, Tysheame Sweat, James MacGavran, Brian Enos, Richard Yancey, James Lewis, Jordan Lahy, Justin Lewis, and Ian Brubaker—ranged in age from 12 to 15 years; and

WHEREAS, led by Head Coach Gary Boker and his staff and supported by the parents and volunteers, the Olive Branch Bulldogs represented the city of Portsmouth and the Commonwealth with great teamwork and sportsmanship during the national championships in Florida; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly commend and congratulate the Olive Branch Bulldogs football team on their exceptionally successful 2000 season; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Head Coach Gary Boker in honor of the national champion Olive Branch Bulldogs.