HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 718

Commending the Great Bridge High School wrestling team.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, January 19, 2001 Agreed to by the Senate, January 25, 2001

WHEREAS, the wrestling team from Chesapeake's Great Bridge High School won the 2000 Virginia High School League Group AAA state wrestling championship; and

WHEREAS, the Great Bridge Wildcats thus secured their third consecutive state title and their 12th in the past 17 years, including an amazing streak of six consecutive titles from 1991 to 1996; and

WHEREAS, the 2000 Wildcats wrestling team featured six individual state champions, which led to Great Bridge's convincing victory in the team scoring; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Steve Martin was ably assisted by coaches Mark Strickland, Chris Smith, Jamie Bond, Keith Goff, and Matt Small; and

WHEREAS, the Wildcat wrestlers, Daniel Frishkon, Christian Staylor, David M. Martin, Jr., Timothy A. Swift, John Cresswell, Robert Barbaree, Jonathan Sioredas, Paul J. Neuman, Justin C. Cuffee, Charles Foreman, Joseph Patterson, Michael Belew, Blake Roeder, and Derek Krawiec, all contributed to the team's successful season; and

WHEREAS, the performance of the 2000 Great Bridge High School wrestling team reaffirmed the Wildcats' dominance of high school wrestling in Virginia; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly salute the Great Bridge High School wrestling team on its outstanding 2000 season; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Head Coach Steve Martin as an expression of the General Assembly's appreciation of the championship performance of the Great Bridge High School Wildcats.