2001 SESSION

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 716

Commending the Smithfield Peewee Packers 1 football team.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, January 19, 2001 Agreed to by the Senate, January 25, 2001

WHEREAS, the Smithfield Peewee Packers 1 football team has won its conference championship and the state title two years in a row; and

WHEREAS, the 2000 Smithfield Peewee Packers 1 football team won the Mid-South regional championship, which earned the team a spot in the playoff game in Orlando, Florida; and

WHEREAS, their victory in the playoff game earned the Smithfield Peewee Packers the opportunity to play in the Pop Warner Little Scholars Super Bowl; and

WHEREAS, the Smithfield Peewee Packers 1 football team finished the season as the second-ranked team in the nation, with a record of 12 wins and only one loss; and

WHEREAS, the success of the Smithfield Peewee Packers 1 football team is due to the leadership of Coach Mark Brake and Assistant Coaches Rusty Wyatt, Kelvin Tynes, David Hornsby, and Gary Bolt; and the hard work, enthusiasm, and determination of all 22 young football players; and

WHEREAS, during his four-year tenure, Head Coach Mark Brake has compiled an overall record of 46 wins and three losses, including a perfect record of 32 consecutive victories in regular-season games; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly commend and congratulate the Smithfield Peewee Packers 1 football team on its outstanding success; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Head Coach Mark Brake in recognition of the championship performance of the Smithfield Peewee Packers 1 football team.