SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 91

Celebrating the life of Father Arthur Dennis Conrad.

Agreed to by the Senate, January 27, 2000 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 4, 2000

WHEREAS, Father Arthur Dennis Conrad, a priest in the Roman Catholic Diocese of Richmond for more than 20 years, died on January 5, 2000; and

WHEREAS, born in Frankfurt, Germany, Father Conrad grew up in Norfolk, graduated from St. John Vianney Seminary in Richmond, completed his training at St. Mary's Seminary and University in Baltimore, and graduated from Catholic University; and

WHEREAS, ordained in 1977, Father Conrad was assigned pastorates in Richmond, Virginia Beach, Clifton Forge, Petersburg, and Norfolk before he returned to Richmond to lead Holy Rosary Catholic Church in 1988; and

WHEREAS, Father Conrad was a member of the board of the Interfaith Housing Corporation, through which he worked to improve Richmond's housing and community development; and

WHEREAS, Father Conrad also worked to develop interfaith and interracial dialogue through his ministry with Richmond Hill, an ecumenical retreat center in Richmond's Church Hill neighborhood; and

WHEREAS, also active with the Richmond AIDS Ministry, Father Conrad was honored with the Humanitarian Award for community service by the Richmond Chapter of the National Conference for Community and Justice; and

WHEREAS, a priest dedicated to the spiritual welfare of his parishioners and committed to community service, Father Arthur Dennis Conrad will be sorely missed by the countless people in the Richmond community whose lives he touched and improved; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly hereby mourn the untimely passing of a singularly devoted and valuable Virginian, Father Arthur Dennis Conrad; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to the family of Father Arthur Dennis Conrad as an expression of the esteem in which his memory is held by the members of the General Assembly.