SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 88

Commending Donald McCaig, Philip D. Morgan, and Lou V. Crabtree.

Agreed to by the Senate, January 27, 2000 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 4, 2000

WHEREAS, The Library of Virginia annually recognizes the best book of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry written about Virginia or by a Virginia author; and

WHEREAS, the Commonwealth is home to a wealth of talented and creative writers; and

WHEREAS, The Library of Virginia recognized three Virginia authors for their outstanding books published in 1998 at its Second Annual Library of Virginia Awards Celebration Honoring Virginia Authors and Friends on September 18, 1999; and

WHEREAS, Donald McCaig, of Williamsville in Highland County and author of numerous novels and works of nonfiction, won the award for best work of fiction for *Jacob's Ladder: A Story of Virginia During the War*, a realistic and compelling account of the impact of the Civil War on the lives of slaves and masters; and

WHEREAS, Philip D. Morgan, a professor of history at The College of William and Mary, was the winner of the nonfiction prize for *Slave Counterpoint: Black Culture in the Eighteenth-Century Chesapeake and Lowcountry*, a groundbreaking examination of slave life in the colonial American South; and

WHEREAS, Lou V. Crabtree, a retired educator from Abingdon and author of numerous poems, three novels, and a series of short stories, won the poetry prize for *The River Hills and Beyond: Poems*, a collection written in the rich tones of Appalachia; and

WHEREAS, these three writers represent the best of Virginia's rich literary heritage; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend and congratulate Donald McCaig, Philip D. Morgan, and Lou V. Crabtree on their selection as winners of The Library of Virginia's 1999 literary awards; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare copies of this resolution for presentation to Donald McCaig, Philip D. Morgan, and Lou V. Crabtree as an expression of the General Assembly's high regard for their contributions to Virginia's literary heritage and to The Library of Virginia in appreciation of its work promoting Virginia authors and their books.