005614230

1 2

3

4 5 6

7 8

9

10 11

12

13 14

15

16

17

18

19 20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28 29

31 32

33

34

35

36

37

38

39 40

41

42 43

44

45

46

48

49

51

55

56

57 58

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 158

Offered January 24, 2000

Creating the Virginia Long-Term Care Foundation.

Patrons—Schrock, Bolling and Lambert; Delegates: Brink, DeBoer, Diamonstein, Hamilton, Melvin and Morgan

Referred to Committee on Rules

WHEREAS, the population of the Commonwealth is rapidly aging; and

WHEREAS, Virginians over 85 are the fastest growing segment of the state's population; and

WHEREAS, the demand for long-term care services is expected to increase rapidly; and

WHEREAS, the Medicaid program finances the majority of nursing home care in the Commonwealth; and

WHEREAS, there is a demonstrable need for innovative approaches to meeting the long-term care needs of Virginia's citizens; and

WHEREAS, the Virginia Health Care Foundation has been a successful model for promoting innovative approaches for delivering primary care in the Commonwealth; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVÊD by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That there be created as a private, nonprofit foundation, the Virginia Long-Term Care Foundation; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the purpose of the Foundation shall be to provide financial and technical support, in the form of grants, donations, or other assistance, to promote the development of innovative regional and local long-term care strategies and best practices; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Foundation's Board shall be the governing body of the Foundation. The Board shall employ a chief executive officer and other such employees as it deems appropriate. The Board shall be composed of fourteen members. The Governor shall appoint six members of the Board. The Speaker of the House of Delegates shall appoint three members of the Board. The Senate Committee on Privileges and Elections shall appoint two members of the Board. The eleven Board members appointed as described herein shall appoint the remaining three initial board members. The initial members shall be appointed for terms of office as follows: two of the members appointed by the Governor, one of the members appointed by the Speaker of the House, and one of the members appointed by the Board shall be appointed for a term of one year; two of the members appointed by the Governor, one of the members appointed by the Speaker of the House, and one of the members appointed by the Senate Committee on Privileges and Elections, and one of the members appointed by the Board shall be appointed for a term of two years; and two of the members appointed by the Governor, one of the members appointed by the Speaker of the House, one of the members appointed by the Senate Committee on Privileges and Elections, and one of the members appointed by the Board shall be appointed for a term of three years. Appointments thereafter shall be for terms of three years. Vacancies in the membership of the Board shall be filled by appointment of the Board. No member shall be eligible to serve for more than two successive three-year terms; however, at the expiration of a term of two years or less, or after the expiration of the remainder of a term to which he was appointed to fill a vacancy, two additional terms may be served by such member if appointed thereto. Immediately after such appointment, the members shall enter upon the performance of their duties. The Commissioner of the Department for the Aging; the Commissioner of the Department of Medical Assistance Services; the Commissioner of the Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services; the Commissioner of the Department of Rehabilitative Services; the Director of the Department for Rights of Virginians With Disabilities, the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services; the Commissioner of the State Department of Health; the Executive Director of the Joint Commission on Health Care; the Chairman of the Commonwealth Council on Aging; and the Director of Housing and Community Development shall serve as ex officio, non-voting members. Ex officio, non-voting members shall be empowered to appoint a designee to attend meetings of the board in their place. The Board shall elect annually a chairman and vice-chairman from among its members. The chairman, or in his absence, the vice-chairman, shall preside at all meetings of the Board. A majority of the members of the Board serving at any one time shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business. The Board shall meet quarterly or more frequently at the call of the chairman.

An estimated \$500,000 for the first fiscal year and \$1,000,000 for the second fiscal year of the 2000-2002 Biennium is allocated to the Virginia Long-Term Care Foundation to be funded by a separate appropriation for the General Assembly.