## **2000 SESSION**

**SENATE BILL NO. 246** Senate Amendments in [] — January 27, 2000 A BILL to amend and reenact § 15.2-4507 of the Code of Virginia, relating to members of the commission of the Tidewater Transportation District. Patron—Schrock Referred to Committee on Local Government Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia: 1. That § 15.2-4507 of the Code of Virginia is amended and reenacted as follows: § 15.2-4507. Members of commission. A. The commission shall consist of the number of members the component governments shall from 14 time to time agree upon, or as may otherwise be provided by law. The governing body of each participating county and city shall appoint from among its members the number of commissioners to which the county or city is entitled; however, for those commissions with powers as set forth in subsection A of § 15.2-4515, the governing body of each participating county or city is not limited to appointing commissioners from among its members. In addition, the governing body may appoint from its number or otherwise, designated alternate members for those appointed to the commission who shall be able to exercise all of the powers and duties of a commission member when the regular member is absent from commission meetings. Each such appointee shall serve at the pleasure of the appointing body; however, no appointee to a commission with powers as set forth in subsection B of  $\S$  15.2-4515 may continue to serve when he is no longer a member of the appointing body. Each governing body shall inform the commission of its appointments to and removals from the commission by delivering to the commission a certified copy of the resolution making the appointment or causing the removal. In the case of a transportation district which was established on or after July 1, 1986, and which includes more than one jurisdiction located within the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area, the

27 28 commission shall also include two members of the House of Delegates and one member of the Senate of 29 Virginia from legislative districts located wholly or in part within the boundaries of the transportation 30 district. The members of the House of Delegates shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House for terms of two years and the member of the Senate by the Senate Committee on Privileges and Elections 31 32 for a term of four years; however, the terms of such members shall terminate if they no longer are 33 members of their respective houses. The members of the General Assembly shall be eligible for 34 reappointment so long as they remain members of their respective houses.

35 In the case of the Tidewater Transportation District, the commission shall also include two members 36 of the House of Delegates and one member of the Senate from legislative districts located wholly or in 37 part within the boundaries of the respective transportation districts. The members of the House of 38 Delegates shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House for terms of two years and the member of the 39 Senate shall be appointed by the Senate Committee on Privileges and Elections for a term of four years; however, the terms of such members shall terminate if they no longer are members of their respective 40 houses. The members of the General Assembly shall be eligible for reappointment so long as they 41 42 remain members of their respective houses.

43 In the case of the Peninsula [ Hampton Roads Transportation District Transportation District 44 Commission of Hampton Roads ], the commission [ may shall ] also include one member of the House of Delegates or and one member of the Senate, or both, from legislative districts located wholly or in 45 part within the boundaries of the Peninsula Transportation District one of who shall be a resident of the 46 47 City of Hampton or the City of Newport News and one of whom shall be a resident of the City of Chesapeake, the City of Norfolk, the City of Suffolk, the Čity of Portsmouth, or the City of Virginia **48** Beach. The member of the House of Delegates shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House for a 49 50 term of two years and the member of the Senate shall be appointed by the Senate Committee on 51 Privileges and Elections for a term of four years [, upon the receipt of a certified copy of a resolution of the commission requesting such appointment, concurred in by the councils of the Cities of Newport 52 53 News and Hampton cities of Chesapeake, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Suffolk, Portsmouth, and Virginia Beach, by adoption of an appropriate resolution by such councils ]. The terms of such 54 members shall terminate if they no longer are members of their respective houses. The members of the 55 General Assembly shall be eligible for reappointment so long as they remain members of their 56 respective houses and appointments shall be made for any unexpired terms. 57

The Chairman of the Commonwealth Transportation Board, or his designee, shall be a member of the 58 59 commission, ex officio. The chairman of the Commonwealth Transportation Board may appoint an

ENGROSSED

9

10

11

12 13

15 16

17

18 19

20

21

22

23 24

25

26

9/25/22 17:34

alternate member who may exercise all the powers and duties of the chairman of the CommonwealthTransportation Board when neither the chairman of the Commonwealth Transportation Board nor his

62 designee is present at a commission meeting.

**63** B. Any appointed member of a commission of a transportation district which was established prior to

**64** July 1, 1986, and which includes jurisdictions located within the Washington, D.C. standard metropolitan **65** statistical area, is authorized to serve as a member of the board of directors of the Washington

66 Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (Chapter 627 of the Acts of Assembly of 1958 as amended) and

67 while so serving the provisions of § 2.1-30 shall not apply to such member.