8/8/22 12:53

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 426

Offered February 16, 2000

Recognizing Communications Education Week in Virginia and commending the new members of the Virginia Communications Hall of Fame.

Patrons—Cox, Albo, Blevins, Bloxom, Bolvin, Broman, Bryant, Byron, Callahan, Cantor, Cranwell, Davis, Devolites, Dillard, Drake, Dudley, Griffith, Hamilton, Hargrove, Harris, Howell, Ingram, Johnson, Jones, D.C., Jones, S.C., Katzen, Kilgore, Landes, Larrabee, Louderback, Marshall, May, McClure, McDonnell, McEachin, McQuigg, Melvin, Morgan, Nixon, O'Brien, Orrock, Parrish, Purkey, Reid, Rhodes, Rollison, Ruff, Rust, Scott, Sherwood, Spruill, Suit, Tata, Thomas, Van Landingham, Wagner, Wardrup, Ware, Watts, Weatherholtz and Woodrum

Consent to introduce

Referred to Committee on Rules

WHEREAS, the impact of communications on the lives of Virginians has increased dramatically and now encompasses interactive and digital communications in addition to the more traditional print and broadcast media; and

WHEREAS, the Virginia Communications Hall of Fame at Virginia Commonwealth University's School of Mass Communications recognizes significant and sustained achievement in the areas of publishing, broadcast, advertising, education, and, for the first time, interactive media; and

WHEREAS, on April 6, 2000, six individuals will be inducted into the Virginia Communications Hall of Fame in recognition of their exceptional achievements and contributions; and

WHEREAS, Raymond H. Boone, a native Virginian and a former professor at Howard University, is the founder and publisher of the <u>Richmond Free Press</u> and the winner of numerous national awards, including three from the National Newspaper Publishers Association for editorial writing; and

WHEREAS, Beverly Orndorff, a native of Mount Jackson and a graduate of the University of Virginia, recently completed a 40-year career with the <u>Richmond Times-Dispatch</u>, during most of which he served as the paper's award-winning science reporter and columnist; and

WHEREAS, Sandra Mims Rowe is the editor of the 1999 Pulitzer-Prize-winning Oregonian, was the executive editor and vice president of The Virginian-Pilot and The Ledger-Star from 1984 to 1993, and is a former member of the board of visitors of James Madison University; and

WHEREAS, John R. Shreves, Jr., has held a variety of creative, production, and management positions, including marketing and program manager, with WWBT-TV in Richmond and is today the president of Jefferson Pilot Communications Television based in Charlotte, North Carolina; and

WHEREAS, Joseph R. Slay, a graduate of Washington and Lee University, created Martin Public Relations in 1982, and the company has since grown into the largest public relations firm in Richmond and one of the two largest in the Commonwealth; and

WHEREAS, Frank P. Soden is a broadcasting legend in Richmond, having served as the "Voice of the Richmond Braves," as an assistant athletic director at the University of Richmond, as a radio sports personality, and as a willing and award-winning volunteer for a long list of charities; and

WHEREAS, these six inductees represent the finest among the Commonwealth's communications professionals, and their recognition by the Virginia Communications Hall of Fame is richly deserved; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby recognize the week of April 2 through April 8, 2000, as Communications Education Week in Virginia; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the General Assembly commend and congratulate the 2000 inductees into the Virginia Communications Hall of Fame; and, be it

RESOLVED FINALLY, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare copies of this resolution for presentation to Raymond H. Boone, Beverly Orndorff, Sandra Mims Rowe, John R. Shreves, Jr., Joseph R. Slay, and Frank P. Soden in honor of their induction into the Virginia Communications Hall of Fame.