## VIRGINIA ACTS OF ASSEMBLY — CHAPTER

An Act to amend and reenact § 15.2-4507 of the Code of Virginia, relating to members of the Transportation District Commission of Hampton Roads.

[H 1411] 5

Approved

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

1. That § 15.2-4507 of the Code of Virginia is amended and reenacted as follows:

§ 15.2-4507. Members of commission.

1

2

3

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14 15

16 17

18 19

20

21

22

23 24 25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36 **37** 

38

39

40

41

42

43

44

45

46

47

48 49

**50** 

51

52 53

54

55

A. The commission shall consist of the number of members the component governments shall from time to time agree upon, or as may otherwise be provided by law. The governing body of each participating county and city shall appoint from among its members the number of commissioners to which the county or city is entitled; however, for those commissions with powers as set forth in subsection A of § 15.2-4515, the governing body of each participating county or city is not limited to appointing commissioners from among its members. In addition, the governing body may appoint from its number or otherwise, designated alternate members for those appointed to the commission who shall be able to exercise all of the powers and duties of a commission member when the regular member is absent from commission meetings. Each such appointee shall serve at the pleasure of the appointing body; however, no appointee to a commission with powers as set forth in subsection B of § 15.2-4515 may continue to serve when he is no longer a member of the appointing body. Each governing body shall inform the commission of its appointments to and removals from the commission by delivering to the commission a certified copy of the resolution making the appointment or causing the removal.

In the case of a transportation district which was established on or after July 1, 1986, and which includes more than one jurisdiction located within the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area, the commission shall also include two members of the House of Delegates and one member of the Senate of Virginia from legislative districts located wholly or in part within the boundaries of the transportation district. The members of the House of Delegates shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House for terms of two years and the member of the Senate by the Senate Committee on Privileges and Elections for a term of four years; however, the terms of such members shall terminate if they no longer are members of their respective houses. The members of the General Assembly shall be eligible for reappointment so long as they remain members of their respective houses.

In the case of the Tidewater Transportation District, the commission shall also include two members of the House of Delegates and one member of the Senate from legislative districts located wholly or in part within the boundaries of the respective transportation districts. The members of the House of Delegates shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House for terms of two years and the member of the Senate shall be appointed by the Senate Committee on Privileges and Elections for a term of four years; however, the terms of such members shall terminate if they no longer are members of their respective houses. The members of the General Assembly shall be eligible for reappointment so long as they remain members of their respective houses.

In the case of the Peninsula Transportation District Commission of Hampton Roads, the commission may shall also include one member of the House of Delegates or and one member of the Senate, or both, from legislative districts located wholly or in part within the boundaries of the Peninsula Transportation District one of who whom shall be a resident of the City of Hampton or the City of Newport News and one of whom shall be a resident of the City of Chesapeake, the City of Norfolk, the City of Suffolk, the City of Portsmouth, or the City of Virginia Beach. The member of the House of Delegates shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House for a term of two years and the member of the Senate shall be appointed by the Senate Committee on Privileges and Elections for a term of four years, upon the receipt of a certified copy of a resolution of the commission requesting such appointment, concurred in by the councils of the Cities of Newport News and Hampton, by adoption of an appropriate resolution by such councils. The terms of such members shall terminate if they no longer are members of their respective houses. The members of the General Assembly shall be eligible for reappointment so long as they remain members of their respective houses and appointments shall be made for any unexpired terms.

The Chairman of the Commonwealth Transportation Board, or his designee, shall be a member of the commission, ex officio. The chairman of the Commonwealth Transportation Board may appoint an alternate member who may exercise all the powers and duties of the chairman of the Commonwealth Transportation Board when neither the chairman of the Commonwealth Transportation Board nor his

designee is present at a commission meeting.

B. Any appointed member of a commission of a transportation district which was established prior to July 1, 1986, and which includes jurisdictions located within the Washington, D.C. standard metropolitan statistical area, is authorized to serve as a member of the board of directors of the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (Chapter 627 of the Acts of Assembly of 1958 as amended) and while so serving the provisions of § 2.1-30 shall not apply to such member.